Food & Drink
 When to Visit

 City Guides

 Region Guides
 Cinque Terre

You are Here: > > Umbria



The Italian region of Umbria is one of the smallest in the country. Located in the mountainous regions of central Italy, by the valley of the Tiber River, this tiny sector of Italy thrives in historic tales of medieval flavour.

Originally populated by the Umbri Tribe in 600 BC, Umbria (as named after the tribe) is blanketed by much mystery and shadow (or coincidentally, "Ombra" in Italian). For many centuries, Umbria has settled in the shadow of its better-known neighbour, Tuscany. Away from the limelight, little Umbria has since retained its cultural roots, as you will notice from the presence of thriving elm forests and numerous castles, monasteries and fortresses. It's hard not to let your imagination run off and wander on the Umbrian hilltops all day and be enchanted by its sparkling rivers in the shadow of night.

Umbria is divided into two provinces, Perugia and Terni, of which Perugia is the capital. Towns included in the Umbrian region's capital are: Assisi, Bevagna, Citta di Castello, Foligno, Gubbio, Montefalco, Noria, Spoleto, Spello, Todi, Trevi, and Umbertide.

Apart from its subterranean walls, Etruscan tunnels and medieval aqueduct, Umbrian attractions include the Palazzo dei Priori (town hall), the 16th century Church of San Pietro, the 14th century wooden interiors of Collegio della Mercanzia, and the National Museum of Umbrian Archaeology.

When travelling from Rome to Florence, Tuscany by land, you shall be passing through the Tiber Valley, which takes you to some Umbrian towns such as Assisi and Spoleto. While you are there, take some time to explore and appreciate the meekness and beauty of Umbria.

| Employment | Advertise | Contact | Site Map | Link to Us

Copyright © 2005 - 2006 - All rights reserved