Food & Drink
 When to Visit

 City Guides

 Region Guides
 Cinque Terre

You are Here: > > Piedmont



Piedmont is a region northwest of Italy. Turin is its capital and is notable as home to the FIAT automobile company. Its three sides is surrounded by the Alps mountain range, bordering on France, Switzerland and the Italian regions of Lombardy, Liguria, Emilia Romagna and Valle d'Aosta. The main cities of the Piedmont region include Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Vercelli, Verbania, Torino, Moncalieri and Rivoli.

Aside from its agricultural produce such as wheat, rice, maize and grapes, Piedmont is a renowned wine growing region in Italy with such famous wine producing names as Barbera, Barolo and Barbaresco, as well as Dolcetto.

The word "piedmont" refers to a foothill. In geography, it has become the generic designation for foothill regions.

The Savoy's are known to have lived in Piedmont, the ill-fated royal family who rule Italy from the unification until abdication in 1946.

Considered as a haven for gourmands, tourists flock to taste its wines, sample its cheeses and relish its meat dishes. Autumn is well known for truffles, wild mushrooms and wine festivals.

Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta are famous for romantic weekend retreats.
A distinctive local invention, Sacro Monte offers a dozen or so miniature chapels which allows you an interesting stroll. You may also tour medieval castles as the region is home to some of Italy's spectacular fortresses.

Some of the best attractions in Turin are Europe's best Egyptian Museum, the Automotive Museum or the Savoy's Royal Palace, the Mole Antonelliana, and the Royal Villa at Stupinigi. The Holy Shroud is also displayed periodically for the faithful as well as those simply curious about its religious mystery.

| Employment | Advertise | Contact | Site Map | Link to Us

Copyright © 2005 - 2006 - All rights reserved